Junior Scholars’ Workshop 1 took place on 6-8 October 2000 in Halkidiki, Greece. Sixteen Juniors Scholars and four Senior Scholars from the CDRSEE's Academic came together for three days to discuss new and current historical research in SEE.

List of Participants and Dissertation Titles

  • Isa Blumi, Precarious Identities: Kosovars, Albanians in an Ottoman Balkans.

  • Roxana Lucia Cheschebec, The 'Unholy Marriage' of Feminism with Nationalism in Interwar Romania.

  • Zidas Daskalovski, Development of Macedonian Nationalism 1804-1913.

  • Evguenia Davidova, Economic and Social Activity of the 19th Century Bulgarian Merchants during the Ottoman Period-The Case of Khristo Tapchilestov (1808-1875).

  • Stefan Dorondel, The Water and the Death. Excursions into the peasant imaginary.

  • Loukianos Hassiotis, Five Years of Diplomatic Dilemmas: Greco-Serbian Relations, 1913-1918.

  • Svetlana Ianeva, Craftsmen and guilds in the central part of the Balkans in the first half of the 19th century.

  • Constantin Iordachi, Citizenship and the Public Sphere: A study on Social Change in Romania, 1859-1932.

  • Vangelis Kechriotis, The experience of a Greek-Orthodox population in a shifting urban landscape: Smyrna 1904-1914.

  • Markos Koumaditis, Reconstructing the past of a peasant community in Thessaly, c. 1910-1940: continuity and change in everyday life.

  • Bulent Ozdemir, Ottoman Reforms and Social Life: Reflections from Salonica 1830-1850.

  • Parveva Teodora, The politics of the Judiciary in Interwar Bulgaria.

  • Dusan Pavlovic, Sultanism in Serbia: 1987-2001.

  • Balazs Trencsenyi, Patria, Natio, Status-Conceptualizing collective identity in the Hungarian political literature of the 17th century.

  • Maria Tsikaloudaki, Administration and Management of the Urban Area in the Ottoman Empire: the Case of the Christian Community of Philippoupoli (18th-beginning of the 19th century).

  • Elpida Voglie, 'Hellenes by descent': Citizenship and Identity in Modern Greece, 1821-1864.

Participating Professors:

  • Prof. Fikret Adanir
  • Prof. Richard Crampton
  • Prof. John Lampe
  • Prof. Maria Todorova